Intercollegiate Swimming Championship 2015-16 organized by SPC Puttur

DSC_0362Mangalore University Intercollegiate Swimming Championship 2015-16 was held on 7-8-2015 at Dr. Shivarama Karanatha Balavana Swimming pool, Puttur.

Inaugurating the event Mr.Savanoor Sitaram Rai, Correspondent of Vidyarashmi Institutions Savanoor said that this pool has produced very competent swimmers. He further said, “In the last three years modern technique are adopted to train the swimmers which has yielded good results.”

The Guest of Honour, Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro, Campus Director of St Philomena College said, “Swimming is a natural exercise and it is also life saving art. Inorder to balance between mental and physical power swimming is the best form.”

Prof. Leo Noronha, Principal, St Philomena College, Rev. Fr Vijay Lobo, Principal of St Philomena P.U College, Mr. Oscar Anand, Rotary IPP, Dr.Keshav Murthy, Deputy Director and the observer of the sport meet, Mr. Ganesh Rao, PTA President were also present.

On the occasion the participants of All India University Mr. Preetham Karath, Mr. Niroop G.R, Mr. Sweekrath Anand and Mr. Shreyas Anand were felicitated for their achievement.

Mr. Prakash D’Souza, Physical Education Director of St Philomena College welcomed the gathering. Mrs. Sowmyalatha, Physical Education Director proposed the vote of thanks. Ms. Anjali Rai, Lecturer, Department of Journalism was the Master of the Ceremony.

In the evening, the valedictory programme was presided by Rev. Fr Alfred J Pinto, Correspondent, St Philomena College, the Chief Guest of the function was Mr. Praveen Chandra Alva, Alumus of St Philomena College and Former Captain of Mangalore University Kabbadi Team. The programme was graced by Mr. Partha Varanasi, Coach, Dr. Shivarama Karanatha Balavana Swimming pool and Mr Kishor Kumar C.K, Director of Physical Education, Mangalore University.

After the daylong performance by the swimmers, under the men’s section St Aloyius(Autonomous) College, Mangalore won the first prize, St Philomena College won the second prize, SMS College, Brahmavar won the third prize and GFGC Barkur won the fourth prize. Under the women’s section Vivekananda College, Puttur, St Philomena College, Puttur, Alvas College, Moodbidri and St Aloysius (Autonomous) College, Mangalore won the first, second, third and fourth prize respectively. The men Individual Champion was Yagnesh Bengre of St Aloysius (Autonomous) College and the women Individual Champion was Ms.Asta Rai, Vivekananda College.