Inauguration of the Students’ Council 2015-16

DSC_9330Inauguration of the Students’ Council 2015-2016 of St Philomena College Putur was held on July 29th, 2015 at Silver Jubilee Memorial Hall of the College.

The programme was solemnly inaugurated by the lighting of the lamp by the dignitaries.

The Chief Guest of the function Mr Betta P. Ishwara Bhat, President, Town Planning Authority, Puttur and Advocate began the inaugural address by wishing the students to have a very useful and a wonderful year of student council.

He further said, “Good education is helpful in forming good citizens of the nation. A good student is one who inculcates honesty, integrity and dedication.” He referred to the oath taking ceremony of the students and said that it has lot of meaning and students should abide by the spirit of the oath.

The President of the Students’ Council Mr. Hadly Wilson Gonsalves, Secretary Mr. Ibrahim Bilal, Joint Secretary Ms. Shiksha Shetty along with the class representatives took the oath to work for the progress of the student community in collaboration with staff and management. This was administered by the Principal, Prof. Leo Noronha.

The Campus Director and the Chairman of the P.G Studies Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro while addressing the gathering said, “We remember A.P.J Abdul Kalam not because he was the president of India or missile man but because he was a good person and a good student. Quoting Abdul Kalam he said, ‘If you pollute your duty you have to salute everyone.’ A good leader should contribute to the academics of the college.

The President of the function Rev. Fr Alfred J. Pinto, Correspondent of the college in his presidential address said, “College is the place where the future of the students should be formed. Commitment, devotion, simplicity and sincerity of A.P.J Abdul Kalam made him a great man. Leaders are above everybody and so should be their action.”

The other dignitaries were Rev. Fr Vijay Lobo, Principal, St Philomena P.U College, Mr. M. R Jayakumar Rai, President, Alumini Association and Mr. Ganeh Rao, President P.T.A.

The Students’ Council President Mr. Hadly Wilson Gonsalves welcomed the gathering. The programme concluded with the Vote of Thanks proposed by Secretary, Ibrahim Bilal. The programme was compered by Ms. Elizabeth Sebastian.